Author Topic: Help...Biting and Screeching pionus  (Read 4515 times)

Offline suzette

• Newbie of Parrot Friends
Help...Biting and Screeching pionus
« on: March 20, 2013, 11:56:14 AM »
Hi,

I am new to this sight and I need help.  I have had my Pionus, named Kobie,  for three months now.  He is 7 months old now.  I love him dearly and he is sweet as he can be most of the time. He talks and mimics various whistle that I teach  him. Every morning he wakes up and says, "Hey Kobie, Kobie Kobie".

However, he screeches non stop every morning and afternoon and when we are talking or have guest come by.  It will only stop if I walk around with him on my shoulder or put him on a stand right beside of me.  It is very embarassing when guest arrives and he won't be quiet.  My husband who really liked him at first, is becoming very annoyed.  My family complains every time they come over and he won't quit screeching.

Any suggestions on what to do?  The screeching is so loud that we can not even talk unless we go to the other side of the house.

Also, he bites really hard sometimes when I put my hand in cage.  I never know when he is going to do this and he bites so hard that it bleeds.  Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.

I bought Kobie  because everything I read said a Blue Headed Pionus  was such a quiet and gentle bird.  I  love my little Kobie and don't want to sell him.

Offline Dartman

• Hatchling
Re: Help...Biting and Screeching pionus
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 01:35:33 PM »